the loveART blog



1 revolution. 0 bullets. infinite joy.

As an emissary of the power of the love, today the wordARTist celebrates the twentieth anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall. Growing up during the Cold War, I remember President Kennedy’s speech on our black-and-white TV, the weird knowledge that in a single city, far far away, a gigantic wall divided its citizens…things that only grownups, perhaps, could understand.

What I never imagined was that this seemingly permanent fixture of our psychic landscape could ever crumble. Much less without bullets–in a frenzy of dancing and kissing and love, an amazing example of humanity coming together in pure joy.

Ten years ago I visited Berlin. A museum of human rights at what used to be Checkpoint Charlie documents thousands of attempts of East Germans to escape. I was moved by the fierce determination of people to be free. But what really cracked my heart open was walking the streets of a neighborhood where a fragment of the Wall still existed. There it was, a marker, like the WWII bullet holes the British left on the sides of the Victoria & Albert Museum or the memorial that currently stands at Auschwitz…lest we forget.

Naturally the fall of the Wall inspired all sorts of creative expression. Here are some that I like.

The New York Times invited nine major poets from Eastern Europe, the U.S., Russia and Germany to write new poems inspired by the twentieth anniversary of the Wall’s demise.

David Lanz’s piano piece “Dancing on the Berlin Wall”:

A goofylicious guy thang:

And visual artist Christoph Niemann‘s poignant personal take on the Wall today, a narrative in words and woven paper in his New York Times blog Abstract City:

Christoph Niemann - Over the Wall
Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. Your title really says it all! Brava!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  2. Hi Diana – I clicked over from Michele Berger’s site and I’m glad I did. As I child growing up in the sixties, I didn’t understand the Berlin wall. But I sure got it when it came down. I remember staying up all night watching it unfold on TV, mesmerized. Thanks for the reminder that shadows sometimes turn to light.

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  3. * Silky Hart says:

    Thank you, Diana, for the reminder and all the creative expressions! Your title does say it all!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  4. Thank you for your comments, ladies. It is remarkable to think what was accomplished with absolutely no violence, isn’t it? Just an unstoppable burst of human need for real connection.

    I remember, as a little girl, sitting in front of the Encyclopedia Britannica poring over all the different maps (I adore maps) and pondering, PONDERING how that little circle that was Berlin was some kind of a free zone set within the non-free zone of East Germany–and that within that city was a wall that kept half of its inhabitants locked down. My child brain simply could not fathom it. Perhaps because repression really does make no sense.

    Patty, I just took a quick look at your blog and it looks great! I am going to enjoy reading it. I too am a huge Sondheim fan (not to mention a fanatic about any and all musicals, but he’s by far the most brilliant composer, in my book). Thank you for stopping by!

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

